April 25, 2019

NIC Club Event – ‘Techtonic’


The NIC Club of MVJCE was proud to host an event for pre-final and second year students. The event ‘Techtronic’ is the ultimate test of codes and logic, and consists of 2 rounds which can be played individually or as a group. The completion time decides the winners.

The event was conducted on 27th March, 2019 (Wednesday). It started at 1.30 pm and ended at 4.00 pm, in the PCD Laboratory of the Computer Science and Engineering department. Prof. I Manimozhi, HoD –  CSE and Prof. Dr. S Senthil Kumar judged the event which was coordinated by Event Coordinators Mrs. Ashwini HK and Mr. Karthick Myilvahanan. Around 100 students (50 teams) from the CSE department participated in the event.

Round 1: General Aptitude

The teams were given 40 technical and aptitude-based questions, which tested their technical knowledge and problem-solving skill. This was a time-based pen-and-paper round. The students who cleared maximum number of questions in the minimum time qualified for the second round. Out of the 50 teams that took part, 15 teams were selected to participate in the second round.

Round 2: Dazzle Code

This is a unique round, as one member of the team is blindfolded and another will be his guide. Each team is provided with 2 programs which should be coded only by the person who is blindfolded. The guide is not allowed to type. He / She can only point out the mistakes, or help the blindfolded person verbally to type the program and execute it. The first two teams to execute the 2 programs were declared as winners.


The students can analyse and design, and enhance their technical skill, putting to use various topics of computer science related fields. This hands-on event will also help students in solving Technical and Aptitude related queries. It will also be helpful for pre-final year students to crack the technical interview, with ease.

The Winners of the NIC event ‘TECHATHLON’ are:


  1. Mr. Prashant – 6th semester CSE
  2. Mr. Muthanna – 6th semester CSE


  1. Jonah Jacob Oommen – 4th semester CSE
  2. Koshal Bothra – 4th semester CSE