

An Autonomous Institute Approved by AICTE, New Delhi Affiliated to VTU, Belagavi Recognized by UGC under 2(f) & 12(B) Accredited by NBA & NAAC

# CLUB ACTIVITY ORGANIZED BY DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY 2023-2024

# CLUB ACTIVITY 'CHEMLIFE' - "POSTER MAKING COMPETITION ON E WASTE MANAGEMENT AND DISPOSAL "

The Departmental Club of the Chemistry Department 'Chem Life', organized a Club activity on "Poster Making Competition on E waste Management and Disposal ", on 23<sup>rd</sup> March 2024, in Room No.313 ,315, 316 and Auditorium . The event started at 8:30 am and ended at 10:30pm . Students found the event very interesting, interactive and beneficial, and actively took part in this Club activity. The Chief Guest for the event was Dr. Aruna S.T (Senior Principal Scientist CSIR -NAL Bangalore ).

## **Round 1: Preliminary Round**

In this around 200 students participated , in this round the screening of the teams was done by conducting a presentation round in which students explained about E –waste , its introduction , its types , effects on the environment and its disposal .



Figure 1: Students giving presentation in peliminary round on the dias Megha M.V (1MJ23IS037) and Prajna (1MJ23IS053)

## **Round 2: Final Round**

In this round students prepared the posters in the given time about e –waste management and disposal . Students prepared posters according to their topics and presented to our Chief Guest and other dignitaries .



Figure 2 : From the left Gouthami , Rajeshwari , Samanvitha ,Tejashwini , Bhoomika and Varsha from D sec even sem (23-24) presenting their poster to our Chief Guest Dr. S.T Aruna ( Scientist ,NAL)



Figure 2 : From the left N Revanth Reddy(1MJ23IS045) ,Dase Gowda (1MJ23IS015) , Gautam D Achari (1MJ23IS020) and Narsimha Murthy (1MJ23IS044) from E section (23-24) presenting their poster to our Chief Guest Dr. S.T Aruna (Scientist ,NAL)

## First prize winning team:

Balaji R (1MJ23CS026) ,Chandan DP (1MJ23CS034), Darshan V (1MJ23CS050) ,G.M Vishwanath (1MJ23CS054), Basavaraj B (1MJ23CS029) and Channabasava (1MJ23CS035), from A section first year Chemistry Cycle.

#### **Runner-up team:**

Chaitanya .M (1MJ23IS011), Megha M.V (1MJ23IS037), Prajna (1MJ23IS053) and Harshitha .N (1MJ23IS025) from E section Chemistry Cycle were runner up team .

The winning team received a prize of Rs.1000 and certificates of appreciation. The runner-up team received a prize of Rs.500 and certificates of appreciation.

#### **Outcome of the Event**

The participants understood the significance of e waste disposal method, its categories, sources of e waste and its disposal methods. they were able to put their ideas creatively and constructively in the posters.